Gambling Disorders 360°

Exploring the latest news, issues and research relating to gambling disorders and responsible gaming

Searching For Pioneers in the Field of Gambling Disorders Research!

by: NCRG Staff | Jul 2, 2013

Nominations for the NCRG Scientific Achievement Award are Due Aug. 1

Do you know of a researcher, educator or a recent publication that has advanced the field of gambling disorder research? The National Center for Responsible Gaming (NCRG) annually recognizes outstanding contributions to the field of gambling studies with the NCRG Scientific Achievement Award. This year’s award will be presented during the NCRG Conference on Gambling and Addiction in Las Vegas, Sept. 22-24, 2013.

Dr. Randy Stinchfield receives the 2012 Scientific Achievement Award

Nominations for the NCRG Scientific Achievement Award may include:

  • Research investigators at any stage in their career whose research has made significant contributions to the knowledge base about gambling disorders.
  • Educators who have successfully mentored young investigators in the field or have excelled at promoting public awareness and education about gambling disorders and responsible gaming.
  • A recent publication in a scientific, peer-reviewed journal that represents seminal work in the field.

Guidelines for Submitting a Nomination

The nomination package must include the following:

  1. Letter of recommendation: A detailed letter of recommendation describing the worthiness of the nominee, specifying his or her contribution to the field of gambling studies, or the significance of the publication nominated.
  2. Curriculum vitae (CV): For individual nominees, include an up-to-date CV. For research investigators, include a comprehensive bibliography of the nominee’s publications.
  3. Publications: For research investigators, submit no more than five scientific publications representative of the nominee’s work. In the case of a nomination of a publication, include a copy of the published version of the article. The publication must have been published in the same year as or the year prior to the nomination.

Nominations must be submitted in in PDF format to Christine Reilly (creilly [at] ncrg [dot] org), senior research director of the NCRG by August 1, 2013. The selection committee, composed of distinguished scientists in the addictions field, will select one recipient for the 2013 Scientific Achievement Award.

For more information and a list of past award recipients, please visit the NCRG’s Scientific Achievement Award website.

Do you have questions or comments about the NCRG Scientific Achievement Awards or the 13th annual NCRG Conference on Gambling and Addiction? Please let us know in the comments below!

Posted in:


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.


Connect with the National Center for Responsible Gaming (NCRG) for the latest news on gambling disorders and responsible gaming.

NCRG on Facebook NCRG on Twitter NCRG on SlideShare

Search Blog


Delivered by FeedBurner